Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Honors and Awards - Major National Distinctions

This page lists major national distinctions of our faculty. Additional achievements can be found in the individual faculty pages. Read also about the international recognitions of our faculty. 

U.S. National Academy of Engineering
Robert H. Liebeck, 1992
William A. Sirignano, 2002
Said Elghobashi, 2014

U.S. National Academy of Inventors
Marc Madou, 2014

American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow
William A. Sirignano, 1992
Said Elghobashi, 2009

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Fellow
Robert H. Liebeck, 1984
William A. Sirignano, 1988
Dimitri Papamoschou, 2009
Feng Liu, 2013

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Pendray Aerospace Literature Award
William A. Sirignano, 1990

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Associate Fellow
Kenneth Mease, 1991

American Physical Society, Fellow
Said E. Elghobashi , 1999
William A. Sirignano, 2000

American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Fellow
William A. Sirignano, 1989
Said E. Elghobashi, 1993
J. Michael McCarthy, 2001
G. Scott Samuelsen, 2006
Gregory Washington, 2014

Daniel Guggenheim Medal
Robert H. Liebeck, 2010

Institute for the Advancement of Engineering, Fellow
Robert H. Liebeck, 1992
William A. Sirignano, 1994

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Fellow
William E. Schmitendorf *, 1990
Tryphon T. Georgiou, 2000
Andrei Shkel, 2014

International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC)
Tryphon T. Georgiou, 2016

Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics, Fellow
William A. Sirignano, 2009

National Science Foundation CAREER / Young Investigator Award
Derek Dunn-Rankin, 1989
Donald Dabdub, 2000
Andrei M. Shkel, 2004
Timothy Rupert, 2013
Solmaz Kia, 2017
Haithem Taha, 2019