Faculty

Zoran Nenadic

Zoran Nenadic, D.Sc.

William J. Link Chair and Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Adaptive biomedical signal processing, control algorithms for biomedical devices, brain-machine interfaces, modeling and analysis of biological neural networks
Email: znenadic@uci.edu
Research Lab

Kyriacos Athanasiou

Kyriacos Athanasiou, Ph.D.

Henry Samueli Chair in Engineering and Distinguish Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Director of DELTAi (Directing Engineering & Life-science Translational Advances @ Irvine)
Research Interests: Understanding and enhancing the healing processes of musculoskeletal tissues as well as the body’s cartilaginous tissues, applying the translation of engineering innovations to clinical use, especially in terms of instruments and devices
Email: athens@uci.edu
Research Lab

Michael Berns

Michael Berns, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, and the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Professor Emeritus in Biomedical Engineering; Developmental and Cell Biology; Surgery
Research Interests: Photomedicine, laser microscopy, biomedical devices
Email: mwberns@uci.edu
Research Lab

Elliot Botvinick, Ph.D.

Professor of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Laser microbeams, cellular mechanotransduction, mechanobiology
Email: elliot.botvinick@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Gregory Brewer

Gregory Brewer, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Neuronal networks, decoding brain learning and memory, brain-inspired computing, Alzheimer's disease, brain aging, neuron cell culture
Email: gjbrewer@uci.edu
Web Page

James Brody, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Bioinformatics, micro-nanoscale systems
Email: jpbrody@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Zhongping Chen

Zhongping Chen, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Surgery
Research Interests: Biomedical optics, optical coherence tomography, bioMEMS, biomedical devices
Email: z2chen@uci.edu
Research Lab

Naomi Chesler

Naomi Chesler, Ph.D.

Director of the Edwards Lifesciences Center for Advanced Cardiovascular Technology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Cardiovascular mechanobiology and biomechanics, engineering education, diversity, equity and inclusion in STEM
Email: nchesler@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Bernard Choi

Bernard Choi, Ph.D.

Professor in Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Biomedical optics, in vivo optical imaging, microvasculature, light-based therapeutics
Email: choib@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Michelle Digman

Michelle Digman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Biophotonics, fluorescence spectroscopy and microscopy, nanoscale imaging, mechanotransduction, cancer cell migration, fluorescence lifetime and metabolic mapping
Email: mdigman@uci.edu
Research Lab

Fangyuan Ding

Fangyuan Ding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Quantitative single molecule biology and engineering, systems biology, nucleic-acid based therapies, single cell research tool developments
Email: dingfy@uci.edu
Research Lab

Tim Downing

Tim Downing, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Stem cell and tissue engineering, regenerative biology, cell reprogramming, epigenomics, mechanobiology
Email: tim.downing@uci.edu

 

Anthony Durkin

Anthony Durkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Spatial frequency domain imaging, wide-field functional imaging, quantitative near-infrared spectroscopy of superficial tissues, chemometrics, fluorescence spectroscopy, quantitative spectral imaging
Email: adurkin@uci.edu
Research Lab

Enrico Gratton

Enrico Gratton, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Physics and Astronomy
Research Interests: Design of new fluorescence instruments, protein dynamics, single molecule, fluorescence microscopy, photon migration in tissues
Email: egratton@uci.edu
Research Lab

Anna Grosberg

Anna Grosberg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: Computational modeling of biological systems, biomechanics, cardiac tissue engineering
Email: grosberg@uci.edu
Research Lab

Jered Haun

Jered Haun, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: Nanotechnology, molecular engineering, computational simulations, targeted drug delivery, clinical cancer detection
Email: jered.haun@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Elliot Hui

Elliot Hui, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Microscale tissue engineering, bioMEMS, cell-cell interactions, global health diagnostics
Email: eehui@uci.edu
Research Lab

Tibor Juhasz

Tibor Juhasz, Ph.D.

Professor of Ophthalmology; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Laser-tissue interactions, high-precision microsurgery with lasers, laser applications in ophthalmology, corneal biomechanics
Email: tjuhasz@uci.edu

Arash Kheradvar, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: Cardiac mechanics, cardiovascular devices, cardiac imaging
Email: arashkh@uci.edu
Research Lab

Michelle Khine

Michelle Khine, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: Development of novel nano- and micro-fabrication technologies and systems for single cell analysis, stem cell research, in vitro diagnostics
Email: mkhine@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Christine King

Christine King, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Teaching Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Engineering and STEM education, active learning, wireless health systems, rehabilitation, brain-computer interfaces, robotics
Email: kingce@uci.edu
Research Lab

Frithjof Kruggel, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Biomedical signal and image processing, anatomical and functional neuroimaging in humans, structure-function relationship in the human brain
Email: fkruggel@uci.edu

Abe Lee

Abraham Lee, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: Lab-on-a-chip health monitoring instruments, drug delivery micro/nanoparticles, integrated cell-sorting microdevices, lipid vesicles as carriers for cells and biomolecules, high-throughput droplet bioassays, microfluidic tactile sensors
Email: aplee@uci.edu
Research Lab

Chang Liu

Chang Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Molecular Biology; Biochemistry
Research Interests: Genetic engineering, directed evolution, synthetic biology, chemical biology
Email: ccl@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Wendy Liu

Wendy Liu, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: Biomaterials, microdevices in cardiovascular engineering, cell-cell and cell-micro-environment interactions, cell functions and controls
Email: wendy.liu@uci.edu
Research Lab

Beth Lopour

Beth Lopour, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Computational neuroscience, signal processing, mathematical modeling, epilepsy, translational research
Email: beth.lopour@uci.edu
Research Lab

Josh Mauney

Joshua Mauney, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Urology
Research Interests: Tissue engineering of urogenital, gastrointestinal, and respiratory hollow organs, silk fibroin biomaterials, cellular and molecular mechanisms of tissue regeneration following surgical reconstruction
Email: mauneyj@uci.edu

Thomas Milner

Thomas Milner, Ph.D.

Director of Beckman Laser Institute & Medical Clinic and Professor of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Optical-based therapeutics and diagnostic imaging, biomedical optics sensors, optical tomography
Email: milnert@uci.edu

 

Ronke Olabisi

Ronke Olabisi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Samueli Faculty Development Chair
Research Interests: Orthopedic tissue engineering and regenerative medicine for injury, aging, disease, and space flight
Email: ronke.olabisi@uci.edu
Research Lab

Daryl Preece

Daryl Preece, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Nano-optics, neuro-photonics, optical forces and mechanotransduction, singular optics and biophotonics
Email: dpreece@uci.edu
Research Lab

William Tang

William Tang, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: Micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) nanoscale engineering for biomedical applications, microsystems integration, microimplants, microbiomechanics, microfluidics
Email: wctang@uci.edu
Research Lab

Bruce Tromberg

Bruce Tromberg, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Photon migration, diffuse optical imaging, non-linear optical microscopy, photodynamic therapy
Email: bjtrombe@uci.edu
Profile

 

Shawn Xiang

Liangzhong (Shawn) Xiang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Radiological Sciences; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: X-ray-induced acoustic computed tomography for in vivo radiation dosimetry & radiology, fast proton-induced acoustic imaging for precision proton therapy, and electroacoustic tomography guided electroporation 
Email: liangzhx@uci.edu
Research Lab