Faculty

Abe Lee

Abraham Lee, Ph.D.

William J. Link Chair in Biomedical Engineering and Department Chair and Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: Integrated point-of-care diagnostics, engineered “theranostic” vesicles and particles, active cell sorting microdevices, microphysiological microsystems, and high throughput droplet bioassays
Email: aplee@uci.edu
Research Lab

Michael Berns

Michael Berns, Ph.D.

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Chair in Laser Biomedicine and Professor of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering; Developmental and Cell Biology
Research Interests: photomedicine, laser microscopy, biomedical devices
Email: mwberns@uci.edu
Research Lab

Elliot Botvinick, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: laser microbeams, cellular mechanotransduction, mechanobiology
Email: elliot.botvinick@uci.edu
Research Lab

Gregory Brewer

Gregory Brewer, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: neuronal networks, decoding brain learning and memory, brain-inspired computing, Alzheimer's disease, brain aging, neuron cell culture
Email: gjbrewer@uci.edu
Web Page

 

James Brody, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: bioinformatics, micro-nanoscale systems
Email: jpbrody@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Zhongping Chen

Zhongping Chen, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Otolaryngology; Surgery
Research Interests: biomedical optics, optical coherence tomography, bioMEMS, biomedical devices
Email: z2chen@uci.edu
Research Lab

Bernard Choi

Bernard Choi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor in Residence of Surgery; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: biomedical optics, in vivo optical imaging, microvasculature, light-based therapeutics
Email: choib@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Michelle Digman

Michelle Digman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: biophotonics, fluorescence Spectroscopy and microscopy, nano-scale imaging, mechanotransduction, cancer cell migration, fluorescence lifetime and metabolic mapping
Email: mdigman@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Tim Downing

Tim Downing, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: stem cell and tissue engineering, regenerative biology, cell reprogramming, epigenomics, mechanobiology
Email: tim.downing@uci.edu

Enrico Gratton

Enrico Gratton, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Developmental and Cell Biology; Physics and Astronomy
Research Interests: design of new fluorescence instruments, protein dynamics, single molecule, fluorescence microscopy, photon migration in tissues
Email: egratton@uci.edu
Research Lab

Anna Grosberg

Anna Grosberg, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: computational modeling of biological systems, biomechanics, cardiac tissue engineering
Email: grosberg@uci.edu
Research Lab

Jered Haun

Jered Haun, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: nanotechnology, molecular engineering, computational simulations, targeted drug delivery, clinical cancer detection
Email: jered.haun@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Elliot Hui

Elliot Hui, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: microscale tissue engineering, bioMEMS, cell-cell interactions, global health diagnostics
Email: eehui@uci.edu
Research Lab

Tibor Juhasz

Tibor Juhasz, Ph.D.

Professor of Ophthalmology; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: laser-tissue interactions, high-precision microsurgery with lasers, laser applications in ophthalmology, corneal biomechanics
Email: tjuhasz@uci.edu

Arash Kheradvar, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; School of Medicine
Research Interests: cardiac mechanics, cardiovascular devices, cardiac imaging
Email: arashkh@uci.edu
Research Lab

Khine is appointed the Samueli School's director of faculty innovation

Michelle Khine, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: development of novel nano- and micro-fabrication technologies and systems for single cell analysis, stem cell research, in-vitro diagnostics
Email: mkhine@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Frithjof Kruggel, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: biomedical signal and image processing, anatomical and functional neuroimaging in humans, structure-function relationship in the human brain
Email: fkruggel@uci.edu
Research Lab

Chang Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemistry
Research Interests: genetic engineering, directed evolution, synthetic biology, chemical biology
Email: ccl@uci.edu
Research Lab

Wendy Liu

Wendy Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: biomaterials, microdevices in cardiovascular engineering, cell-cell and cell-micro-environment interactions, cell functions and controls
Email: wendy.liu@uci.edu
Research Lab

Beth Lopour

Beth Lopour, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: computational neuroscience, signal processing, mathematical modeling, epilepsy, translational research
Email: beth.lopour@uci.edu
Research Lab

 

Zoran Nenadic

Zoran Nenadic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: adaptive biomedical signal processing, control algorithms for biomedical devices, brain-machine interfaces, modeling and analysis of biological neural networks
Email: znenadic@uci.edu
Research Lab

William Tang

William Tang, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) nanoscale engineering for biomedical applications, microsystems integration, microimplants, microbiomechanics, microfluidics
Email: wctang@uci.edu
Research Lab

Bruce Tromberg

Bruce Tromberg, Ph.D.

Professor of Surgery and Biomedical Engineering; Physiology and Biophysics; Director, Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic
Research Interests: photon migration, diffuse optical imaging, non-linear optical microscopy, photodynamic therapy
Email: bjtrombe@uci.edu
Profile