2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

The UCI Engineering Hall of Fame honors those who have made a significant impact in their profession, or in other ways have brought distinction to their alma mater. The Samueli School of Engineering and the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences established the Hall of Fame in 2015 as UCI was celebrating its 50th anniversary as one of the nation’s leading universities. The School of Physical Sciences joined the celebration in 2018.



Hany Haroun, M.S. 2000 – Civil Engineering
Cindy Miller, B.S. 1994 – Civil Engineering
Robert Sanchez, Ph.D. 2005, M.S. 2002 – Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Daryoosh Vakhshoori, B.S. 1982 – Electrical Engineering

Information and Computer Sciences

Howard Gersh, B.S. 1991 – Information and Computer Science
Sivan Mahadevan, B.S. 1985 – Computer Science
Sandy Smart-Ashburn, B.S. 1987 – Information and Computer Science
Vincent Steckler, B.S. 1980 – Information and Computer Science

Physical Sciences

Michl Binderbauer, Ph.D. 1996, M.S. 1993 – Physics
John Gerace, B.S. 1987 – Chemistry & Biological Sciences
David MacMillan, Ph.D. 1996 – Chemistry
Vincent Steckler, B.S. 1980 – Math