Affiliated Faculty

Carter Butts, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Statistics
Research Interests: mathematical sociology, social networks, quantitative methodology, human judgment and decision making, economic sociology
Email: buttsc@uci.edu

 

Brian Demsky, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests:  software reliability, security, software engineering, compilation, parallel software, program analysis, and program understanding
Email: bdemsky@uci.edu

 

Nikil Dutt, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: embedded systems, computer architecture, electronic design automation, software systems, brain-inspired architectures and computing
Email: dutt@uci.edu

 

Magda El Zarki, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: network architectures and protocols, multimedia services, performance analysis, wireless systems.
Email:  elzarki@uci.edu

 

Aleksandr Figotin, Ph.D.

Professor of Physical Sciences; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: applied and computational mathematics, mathematical physics
Email: afigotin@uci.edu

 

Michael Franz, D.Sc.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: computer security, systems software, particularly compilers and virtual machines, software engineering
Email: franz@uci.edu
Visit Franz's Research Lab

 

Ian G. Harris, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: hardware/software covalidation, manufacturing test
Email: harris@ics.uci.edu

 

Scott Jordan, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: pricing and differentiated services in the Internet, resource allocation in wireless networks, telecommunications policy
Email: sjordan@uci.edu
Visit Jordan's Research Lab
 

Zak Kassas, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: cyber-physical systems (CPS), autonomous vehicles (aerial, ground, underwater), satellite-based navigation, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), cognitive and software-defined radio (SDR), sensor fusion
Email: zkassas@uci.edu

 

Michelle Khine, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research interests: development of novel nano- and micro-fabrication technologies and systems for single cell analysis, stem cell research, in-vitro diagnostics
Email: mkhine@uci.edu

 

Marco Levorato, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests:
Email: levorato@uci.edu
 

 

Sabee Molloi, Ph.D.

Professor of Radiological Sciences; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research interests: Quantitative aspects of medical x-ray imaging and its applications to cardiac and breast imaging
Email: symolloi@uci.edu

 

Zoran Nenadic, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: adaptive biomedical signal processing, control algorithms for biomedical devices, brain-machine interfaces, modeling and analysis of biological neural networks
Email: znenadic@uci.edu
Visit Nenadic's Research Lab

 

Eric Potma, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry; Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic; School of Medicine; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: quantitative biomedical imaging with nonlinear optical microscopy, nonlinear imaging of individual molecules and nanostructures, sharpening imaging contrast in nonlinear optical microscopy
Email: epotma@uci.edu
 

Amir Rahmani, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Nursing; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: e-health, wearable internet-of-things,healthcare/nursing informatics, embedded systems
Email: a.rahmani@uci.edu

 

Ardalan Amiri Sani, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research interests: building trustworthy systems at the intersection of mobile computing, security, and operating systems.
Email: ardalan@uci.edu

 

Andrei Shkel, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design and advanced control of micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS), precision micro-sensors and actuators for telecommunication and information technologies, MEMS-based health monitoring systems, disposable diagnostic devices, prosthetic implants
Email: ashkel@uci.edu
Visit Shkel's Research Lab

 

Sameer Singh, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science; Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: artificial intelligence and machine learning, databases and data mining, scientific and numerical computing
Email: sameer@uci.edu

 

William Tang, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) nanoscale engineering for biomedical applications, microsystems integration, microimplants, microbiomechanics, microfluidics
Email: wctang@uci.edu