Affiliated Faculty

Shane Ardo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: inorganic and organometallic, physical chemistry and chemical physics, polymer, materials, nanoscience
Email: ardo@uci.edu
Research Lab


John Chaput, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Chemistry; Molecular Biology and Biochemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: chemical and synthetic biology, artificial genetic polymers, therapeutics, diagnostics, and information storage
Email: jchaput@uci.edu
Research Lab


Stacy Copp, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Physics and Astronomy; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: soft photonic and electronic materials, metal nanoclusters, polymer nanostructures, self-assembly, biomimetics, machine learning for materials discovery
Email: stacy.copp@uci.edu
Research Lab


Sarah Finkeldei, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: nuclear chemistry, nuclear fuel cycle research, nuclear waste form stability and corrosion behavior, structural uptake of radionuclides
Email: sfinkeld@uci.edu
Research Lab


Anna Grosberg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: computational modeling of biological systems, biomechanics, cardiac tissue engineering
Email: grosberg@uci.edu
Research Lab


Zhibin Guan, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering, and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: Synthesis of new generation of biomaterials for gene/drug delivery and tissue regeneration
Email: zguan@uci.edu


Jered Haun, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: nanotechnology, molecular engineering, computational simulations, targeted drug delivery, clinical cancer detection
Email: jered.haun@uci.edu


Allon Hochbaum, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: nanoscale materials and hybrid bio-inorganic devices for applications in clean energy
Email: hochbaum@uci.edu
Research Lab  


Michelle Khine, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: development of novel nano- and micro-fabrication technologies and systems for single cell analysis, stem cell research, in-vitro diagnostics
Email: mkhine@uci.edu


Young Jik Kwon, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Research Interests: gene therapy, drug delivery, cancer-targeted therapeutics, combined molecular imaging and therapy, cancer vaccine
Email: kwonyj@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Matt Law, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: inorganic and organometallic, physical chemistry and chemical physics, polymer, materials, nanoscience
Email: matt.law@uci.edu
 

Wendy Liu, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: biomaterials, microdevices in cardiovascular engineering, cell-cell and cell-micro-environment interactions, cell functions and controls
Email: wendy.liu@uci.edu
 

Ray Luo, Ph.D.

Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: computational biochemistry and molecular biophysics, intermolecular interactions in proteins and nucleic acids and their applications to drug design
Email: ray.luo@uci.edu
 

Marc Madou, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: fundamental aspects of micro/nano-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS/NEMS), biosensors, nanofluidics, biomimetics
Email: mmadou@uci.edu


Bihter Padak, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Associate Director of UCI Combustion Laboratory
Research Interests:
Email: bpadak@uci.edu 


Xiaoqing Pan, Ph.D.

Professor and Henry Samueli Endowed Chair in Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Physics and Astronomy
Research Interests: atomic-scale structure, properties and dynamic behaviors of advanced materials including thin films and nanostructures for memories, catalysts, and energy conversion and storage devices
Email: xiaoqing.pan@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Regina Ragan, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: exploration and development of novel material systems for nanoscale electronic and optoelectronic devices
Email: rragan@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Diego Rosso, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering; Director of the UCI WEX Center
Research Interests: environmental process engineering, mass transfer, wastewater treatment, carbon- and energy-footprint analysis
Email: bidui@uci.edu
Research Lab


Seunghyun Sim, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: soft materials, protein engineering, synthetic polymers, engineered living materials, supramolecular chemistry
Email: s.sim@uci.edu
Research Lab 


William Tang, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) nanoscale engineering for biomedical applications, microsystems integration, microimplants, microbiomechanics, microfluidics
Email: wctang@uci.edu


Yoojin Won, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Research Interests: multi-scale structures for thermal and energy applications, in particular fabrication, characterization, and integration of structured materials
Email: won@uci.edu
Research Lab