CBE Seminar: Charge-neutral Polymer Complexes as Battery Components

ISEB 1200
Rachel A. Segalman, Ph.D.

Edward Noble Kramer Professor
Chemical Engineering Department Chair
UC Santa Barbara

Non-UCI people- please use this registration link: https://forms.gle/d97HEddTbpyUGQNx7

Abstract: Polymeric components impart inherent mechanical durability of electrochemical devices and decreased flammability to electrochemical devices, but they must have higher performance metrics in order to gain widespread use. This is a particular challenge as long-range Li-ion transport is generally directly related to matrix dynamics and is ultimately limited by the sluggish dynamics of polymers. In this talk, I will discuss superionic conductivity in which the ion motion is decoupled from matrix dynamics and instead occurs through free volume elements in the structure. Semi-crystalline zwitterionic polymers appear both to demonstrate superionic conductivity and also very high salt solubilities due to their polarizability. As a result, they have both high Lithium ion conductivities (10-3 S/cm) and cation transport numbers (t+=0.67) despite their modest glass transition temperatures (0-25°C). I will also discuss new coacervate-based battery binders that demonstrate both high ion and electron conductivities and their use in composite electrodes compatible with polymer electrolytes. 

Bio: Rachel A. Segalman received her bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at Austin and doctorate from UC Santa Barbara. She is the UC Santa Barbara Kramer Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials, and Schlinger Department Chair of Chemical Engineering. She is also the associate director of the UT/UCSB/LBL EFRC: Center for Materials for Water and Energy Systems. Segalman received the E.O. Lawrence Prize from the Department of Energy, the Andy Acrivos Award for Professional Progress from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award, the Dillon Medal from the American Physical Society and the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering. Segalman is an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar. She is also a fellow of the American Physical Society and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering.

Host: Assistant Professor Herdeline Ardoña