Dean Honors Faculty, Staff with Research, Teaching and Service Awards

2017 Faculty AwardsJune 12, 2017 - Dean Gregory Washington recognized eight Samueli School faculty members and one staff member with awards at the spring faculty meeting, June 8, 2017.

Washington initiated the awards four years ago to acknowledge and honor the valued contributions of faculty. Department chairs make the nominations, and one early career, mid-career and senior faculty member receive awards in the categories of research excellence and innovation in teaching. One professor is selected Innovator of the Year. Two new recognitions were added this year, one for faculty service and one for service by an outstanding staff member.

The 2017 honorees are:

Faculty Excellence in Research

This recognition is bestowed upon faculty members who have conducted exceptional fundamental or applied research in one or more areas, or who have made a single or unique contribution to engineering concepts, and in which the research is responsive to or has an impact on society as a whole.

Early Career – Mohammad Al Faruque, associate professor, electrical engineering and computer science

Mid-Career – Payam Heydari, professor, electrical engineering and computer science

Senior – Julie Schoenung, professor, chemical engineering and materials science


Faculty Innovation in Teaching

This teaching award is presented to a faculty team or individual who has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education. It recognizes the demonstrated impact of innovation in the education process, including the design, development and application of new pedagogy, teaching tools and assessment methods. Exceptional teaching in the classroom is also considered. Selection favors those whose contributions have made important, pervasive improvements in engineering education with a significant potential for long-term impact.

Early Career – Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, assistant professor, electrical engineering and computer science

Mid-Career – Regina Ragan, associate professor, chemical engineering and materials science

Senior – Sunny Jiang, professor, civil and environmental engineering


Innovator of the Year  

Michelle Khine, professor, biomedical engineering

This award is presented to an individual or team who best demonstrates innovation in the development of a product or technology. The award recognizes achievements in which the innovation has successfully translated the research emanating from our laboratories into new products and technologies that can be used by the public at large.


Faculty Service Award

John LaRue, professor, mechanical and aerospace engineering and associate dean, undergraduate student affairs

The service award acknowledges a faculty team or individual who has made outstanding service contributions to the many endeavors of the department or school.  It recognizes the importance of the sacrifices that faculty members make in advancing the school’s mission of education, research and outreach. 


Outstanding Staff Member Award

Jean Bennett, Graduate Student Affairs

The service award is given to a staff member who is an outstanding performer in all aspects of his/her job, exhibits exceptional commitment to quality and service in conducting regular job responsibilities and has specific accomplishments that identify the recipient as an asset to the faculty/staff of his/her department or unit.