Faculty Honored for Excellence in Teaching and Research

David ReinkensmeyerMay 31, 2016 – Seven Samueli School faculty members received recognition awards from Dean Gregory Washington at the spring faculty meeting, May 23, 2016. Washington initiated the awards three years ago to acknowledge and honor the valued contributions of faculty.

Awards were given to one early-career, mid-career and senior faculty member in the categories of research excellence and innovation in teaching, and one professor was selected as the Innovator of the Year. The 2016 honorees are:

Innovator of the Year: David Reinkensmeyer, professor, mechanical and aerospace engineering and biomedical engineering

This award is presented to an individual or team who best demonstrates innovation in the development of a product or technology. The award recognizes achievements in which the innovation has successfully translated the research emanating from our laboratories into new products and technologies that can be used by the public at large.

Faculty Excellence in Research

This recognition is given to faculty members who have conducted exceptional fundamental or applied research in one or more areas, or who have made a single or unique contribution to engineering concepts, and in which the research is responsive to or has an impact on society as a whole.

Early Career – Tim Rupert, assistant professor, mechanical and aerospace engineering

Mid-Career – Szu-Wen Wang, associate professor, chemical engineering and materials science

Senior – Hamid Jafarkhani, Chancellor’s Professor, electrical engineering and computer science

Faculty Innovation in Teaching

This award is presented to a faculty team or individual in the Samueli School who has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education. It is meant to recognize the demonstrated impact of innovation in the education process, including the design, development and application of new pedagogy, teaching tools and assessment methods. Exceptional teaching in the classroom is also considered. Selection will favor those whose contributions have made important, pervasive improvements in engineering education with a significant potential for long-term impact.

Early Career – Michelle Digman, assistant professor, biomedical engineering

Mid-Career – Rainer Doemer, associate professor, electrical engineering and computer science

Senior – Nancy DaSilva, professor, chemical engineering and materials science