Graduate Studies Committee

The Graduate Studies Committee shall be the body of the faculty that gives expression to its graduate educational philosophy and provides broad guidance for the formulation of its academic plans, for the establishment of its curricula, and for other educational activities. The committee shall concern itself with the general and educational concepts that permit the crossing of boundaries within the university's educational programs.


The Graduate Studies Committee shall consist of the graduate Advisor for each academic graduate degree program selected by the faculty associated with that department or program, one graduate student selected by the graduate student body of the Samueli School, and the dean or the deans designated representative, ex officio. The faculty members of the committee shall serve for three years each. The student member of the committee shall serve for a one-year term.

Current Members

Michelle Digman

BME Graduate Advisor

Han Li
CBE Graduate Advisor

Russ Detwiler 
CEE Graduate Advisor

Filippo Capolino
CSJDP Program Director

Aparna Chandramowlishwaran

EECS Ph.D. Graduate Advisor

Derek Dunn-Rankin
M.Eng Program Director

Manuel Gamero
MAE Graduate Advisor

Lorenzo Valdevit
MMT Program Director

Daniel Mumm 
MSE Graduate Advisor

Hamid Jafarkhani (Chair)
NTWS Program Director

Student Representative

Contact Info

Anteater Placeholder

Student Representative TBD

GSC 2022-23 Student Representative

Email: TBD
Upcoming Office Hours: TBD