Lizhi Sun

Lizhi Sun

Professor (Joint Appointment)
4139 Engineering Gateway
(949) 824-8670 Office
(949) 824-2117

The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175


Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, Structural Mechanics, 1998
M.S., University of California, Los Angeles, Civil Engineering, 1997
M.S., Peking University,China, Solid Mechanics, 1990
B.S., Zhejiang University, China, Engineering Mechanics, 1987

Dr. Sun’s primary area of research is the micro/nano-mechanics of heterogeneous composite materials, with applications in civil, mechanical, aerospace, electronic, and biomedical engineering. His research has been sponsored by NSF, Army, Air Force, Navy, NGC, and Honda R&D. He has published more than 160 papers including 80 peer-reviewed journal papers in the fields of mechanics and materials, applied physics, and biomedical engineering. He wins numerous academic and research awards such as Fellow of ASCE’s Engineering Mechanics Institute (2014), UCI Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor of the Year (2013), AFRL Faculty Fellow (2011), UCI School of Engineering Fariborz Maseeh Best Faculty Research Award (2008), Honda Research Initiation Award, (2006), Iowa Chapter Chi Epsilon Special Recognition Award (2003), University of Iowa Old Gold Fellow (2003), University of Iowa CARVER Research Award (2000), and UCLA Engineering School Outstanding Ph.D. Award (1998). Dr. Sun is/was an associate editor or editorial board member for International Journal of Damage Mechanics, ASCE Journal of Engineering Mechanics, ASCE Journal of Nanomechanics and Micromechanics, ASCE Lecture Notes in Mechanics, Journal of Surfaces and Interfaces of Materials, Medical Physics (ad hoc), and International Journal of Biomedical Imaging. He has organized more than 30 symposia for various societies. He served as a reviewer for more than 60 journals and 10 funding agencies (e.g. NSF, NIH, DoD). He is a member of ASCE, ASME, MRS, and AAAS and has been the committee chair for ASCE-EMI Committee on Inelasticity Modeling and Multiscale Behavior (2009-2011), ASCE-EMI Committee on Nanocomposites (2012-2013), and ASCE-EMI Committee on Nanomechanics and Micromechanics (2014-Present).