Faculty

Kumar Wickramasinghe

H. Kumar Wickramasinghe, Ph.D.

Henry Samueli Endowed Chair in Engineering and Department Chair and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: nanoscale measurements and characterization, scanning probe microscopy, storage technology, nano-bio measurement technology
Email: hkwick@uci.edu
Research Lab

Mohammad Al Faruque

Mohammad Al Faruque, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Emulex Career Development Chair
Research Interests: cyber-physical systems, embedded systems, CPS security, electric vehicle, and smart manufacturing
Email: alfaruqu@uci.edu
Research Lab

Animashree Anandkumar

Animashree Anandkumar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Computer Science
Research Interests: statistical inference and learning of graphical models, scalable network algorithms
Email: a.anandkumar@uci.edu
Research Lab

Ender Ayanoglu

Ender Ayanoglu, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: communication systems, communication theory, communication networks
Email: ayanoglu@uci.edu
Research Lab

Nader Bagherzadeh

Nader Bagherzadeh, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Computer Science
Research Interests: parallel processing, computer architecture, computer graphics, VLSI design
Email: nader@uci.edu
Research Lab

Ozdal Boyraz

Ozdal Boyraz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: silicon photonics and optical communications systems
Email: oboyraz@uci.edu

Peter Burke

Peter Burke, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: nano-electronics, bio-nanotechnology
Email: pburke@uci.edu

Filippo Capolino

Filippo Capolino, Ph.D.

University of Florence, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: optics/electromagnetics in nanostructures and sensors, antennas/microwaves, RF and wireless systems
Email: f.capolino@uci.edu
Research Lab

Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: high-performance computing, domain-specific compilers, algorithm-architecture co-design, data analysis, and scientific computing
Email: amowli@uci.edu
Research Lab

Pai Chou

Pai Chou, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Computer Science
Research Interests: embedded systems, wireless sensor systems, medical devices, real-time systems, hardware/software co-synthesis
Email: phchou@uci.edu
Research Lab

Franco De Flaviis

Franco De Flaviis, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: microwave systems, wireless communications, electromagnetic circuit simulations
Email: franco@uci.edu
Research Lab

Directory Placeholder

Brian Demsky, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: compiler programming, language software engineering, fault tolerance
Email: bdemsky@uci.edu
Research Lab

Rainer Doemer

Rainer Doemer, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: system-level design, embedded computer systems, design methodologies, specification and modeling languages
Email: doemer@uci.edu
Research Lab

Ahmed Eltawil

Ahmed Eltawil, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design of system and VLSI architectures for broadband wireless communication, implementations and architectures for digital processing
Email: aeltawil@uci.edu
Research Lab

Jean-Luc Gaudiot

Jean-Luc Gaudiot, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: parallel processing, computer architecture, processor architecture
Email: gaudiot@uci.edu
Research Lab

Directory Placeholder

Ramon Gomez, Ph.D.

Assistant Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests:
Email: ragomez1@uci.edu

Michael Green

Michael Green, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: analog/mixed-signal IC design, broadband circuit design, theory of nonlinear circuits
Email: mgreen@uci.edu
Research Lab

Directory Placeholder

Glenn Healey, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: machine vision, computer engineering, image processing, computer graphics, intelligent machines
Email: ghealey@uci.edu

Payam Heydari

Payam Heydari, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design and analysis of analog, RF and mixed-signal integrated circuits, analysis of signal integrity and high-frequency effects of on-chip interconnects in high-speed VLSI circuits
Email: payam@uci.edu
Research Lab
 

Syed Jafar

Syed Jafar, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: wireless communication and information theory
Email: syed@uci.edu
Research Lab

Hamid Jafarkhani

Hamid Jafarkhani, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: communication theory, coding, wireless networks, multimedia networking
Email: hamidj@uci.edu
Research Lab

Directory Placeholder

Stuart Kleinfelder, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: first integrated sensor/readout arrays for visual, IR, X-ray, charged particles
Email: stuartk@uci.edu

Fadi Kurdahi

Fadi Kurdahi, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Embedded Computer Systems and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Computer Science
Research Interests: VLSI system design, design automation of digital systems
Email: kurdahi@uci.edu
Research Lab

Chin Lee

Chin Lee, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: bonding technology, electronic packaging, acoustics, microwaves, semiconductor devices, thermal management
Email: cclee@uci.edu

Henry Lee

Henry Lee, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: photonics, fiber-optics and compound semiconductors
Email: hplee@uci.edu

G.P. Li

Guann-Pyng Li, Ph.D.

Director of the UCI Division of the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology (Calit2), Director of the Integrated Nanosystems Research Facility and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: high-speed semiconductor technology, optoelectronic devices, integrated circuit fabrication and testing
Email: gpli@uci.edu
Research Lab

Kwei-Jay Lin

Kwei-Jay Lin, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Computer Science
Research Interests: real-time systems, distributed systems, service-oriented computing
Email: klin@uci.edu
Research Lab

Athina Markopoulou

Athina Markopoulou, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Information and Computer Sciences
Research Interests: networking—reliability and security, multimedia networking, measurement and control, design and analysis of network protocols and algorithims, internet reliability and security, multimedia streaming, network measurements and control
Email: athina@uci.edu
Research Lab

Henry Samueli

Henry Samueli, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: digital signal processing, communications systems engineering, CMOS integrated circuit design for applications in high-speed data transmission systems
Email: EngineeringDean@uci.edu

Phillip Sheu

Phillip C-Y Sheu, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Biomedical Engineering; Computer Science
Research Interests: semantic computing, robotic computing, biomedical computing, multimedia computing
Email: psheu@uci.edu
Research Lab

Keyue Smedley

Keyue Smedley, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: power electronics and analog circuit design
Email: smedley@uci.edu
Research Lab

Lee Swindlehurst

A. Lee Swindlehurst, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: signal processing, estimation and detection theory, applications in wireless communications, geo-positioning, radar, sonar, biomedicine
Email: swindle@uci.edu
Research Lab

Chen Tsai

Chen Tsai, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: integrated and fiber optics, devices and materials, integrated acoustooptics and magnetooptics, integrated microwave magnetics, Ultrasonic Atomization for Nanoparticles Synthesis, silicon photonics
Email: cstsai@uci.edu
Research Lab

Zhiying Wang

Zhiying Wang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests:
Email: zhiying@uci.edu
Research Lab

Homayoun Yousefi'zadeh

Homayoun Yousefi'zadeh, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: communications networks
Email: hyousefi@uci.edu
Research Lab