Affiliated Faculty

Lubomir Bic, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: parallel and distributed computing, mobile agents
Email: lbic@uci.edu
 

Elaheh Bozorgzadeh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design automation and synthesis for embedded systems, VLSI CAD, reconfigurable computing
 

Carter Butts, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Statistics
Research Interests: mathematical sociology, social networks, quantitative methodology, human judgment and decision making, economic sociology
 

Zhongping Chen, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Chemical Engineering and Materials Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Otolaryngology; Surgery
Research Interests: biomedical optics, optical coherence tomography, bioMEMS, biomedical devices
Email: z2chen@uci.edu
Visit Chen's Research Lab
 

Nikil D. Dutt, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: embedded systems, computer architecture, electronic design automation, software systems, brain-inspired architectures and computing
Email: dutt@uci.edu
 

Magda S. El Zarki, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Informatics
Research Interests: telecommunications, networks, wireless communication, video transmission
Email: elzarki@uci.edu
 

Michael S. Franz, D.Sc.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: computer security, systems software, particularly compilers and virtual machines, software engineering
Email: franz@uci.edu
Visit Franz's Research Lab
 

Michael T. Goodrich, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: computer security, algorithm design, data structures, Internet algorithmics, geometric computing, graphic drawing
Email: goodrich@uci.edu
Visit Goodrich's Research Lab
 

Gultekin Gulsen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Radiological Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Physics and Astronomy
Research Interests: in vivo molecular imaging, diffuse optical tomography, fluorescence tomography, photo-magnetic imaging, multi-modality imaging
Email: ggulsen@uci.edu
Visit Gulsen's Research Lab
 

Ian G. Harris, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: hardware/software covalidation, manufacturing test
 

Dan S. Hirschberg, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: analyses of algorithms, concrete complexity, data structures, models of computation
Email: dhirschb@uci.edu
 

Scott A. Jordan, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: pricing and differentiated services in the Internet, resource allocation in wireless networks, telecommunications policy
Email: sjordan@uci.edu
Visit Jordan's Research Lab
 

Frithjof Kruggel, M.D.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering
Research Interests: biomedical signal and image processing, anatomical and functional neuroimaging in humans, structure-function relationship in the human brain
Email: fkruggel@uci.edu
Visit Kruggel's Research Lab
 

Marco Levorato, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests:
Email: levorato@uci.edu
 

Aditi Majumder, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: novel displays and cameras for computer graphics and visualization, human-computer interaction, applied computer vision
Email: majumder@ics.uci.edu
 

Gopi Meenakshisumdaram, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: geometry and topology for computer graphics, image-based rendering, object representation, surface reconstruction, collision detection, virtual reality, telepresence
Email: gopi@ics.uci.edu
 

Zoran Nenadic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: adaptive biomedical signal processing, control algorithms for biomedical devices, brain-machine interfaces, modeling and analysis of biological neural networks
Email: znenadic@uci.edu
Visit Nenadic's Research Lab
 

Alexandru Nicolau, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: architecture, parallel computation, programming languages and compilers
Email: anicolau@uci.edu
 

Eric Potma, Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Associate Professor of Chemistry, Assistant Adjunct Professorof Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic School of Medicine
Research Interests: quantitative biomedical imaging with nonlinear optical microscopy, nonlinear imaging of individual molecules and nanostructures, sharpening imaging contrast in nonlinear optical microscopy
Email: epotma@uci.edu
 

Isaac D. Scherson, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: parallel computing architectures, massively parallel systems, parallel algorithms, interconnection networks, performance evaluation
Email: isaac@uci.edu
 

Andrei M. Shkel, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design and advanced control of micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS), precision micro-sensors and actuators for telecommunication and information technologies, MEMS-based health monitoring systems, disposable diagnostic devices, prosthetic implants
Email: ashkel@uci.edu
Visit Shkel's Research Lab
 

Xiangmin Xu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology; Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: local cortical circuits