UCI Announces 2010 Medal Recipients

UC Irvine’s most prestigious honor, the Medal, which annually confers lifelong recognition on those who have made exceptional contributions to the university’s mission of teaching, research and public service will be given to three individuals and one couple in October.

Among the honorees is Scott Samuelsen, Ph.D., P.E., professor of mechanical, environmental and aerospace engineering and a leading expert on hydrogen technology. He oversaw the development of UC Irvine’s hydrogen fueling station – the most technologically advanced, publicly accessible station in the world.  Samuelsen also directs the Advanced Power and Energy Program, which encompasses the National Fuel Cell Research Center, the UCI Combustion Lab, and the Pacific Rim Consortium on Energy, Combustion and the Environment. His research focuses on energy generation, distribution and utilization, including the production of electricity, motive power and propulsive power from fuel cells, gas turbines and hybrids of both.

UCI Announces 2010 Medal Recipients [UC Irvine Today]

Image Gallery