Student Poster Winners Announced at Annual Awards Banquet

Five engineering students recognized for outstanding research project posters 

On May 15, 2006, the Samueli School recognized five student recipients of the 2006 Fariborz Maseeh Best Student Poster contest. The awards were presented to an undergraduate biomedical engineering team, David Truong, Garrett Thompson and Craig Griffith, mechanical and aerospace engineering graduate student, Laura Marchal, and biomedical engineering graduate student, Jian Wu.

Winners were chosen from among 55 entries as part of the engineering student poster session held during the School's "California: Prosperity Through Technology" annual symposium, providing both undergraduates and graduates an opportunity to prominently display their research. 

Symposium guests and UC Irvine faculty were invited to view the posters, highlighting projects from all five academic departments, and speak with the participants regarding their research.

Following the poster session, the student winners were invited to attend the School’s dinner and awards banquet with their advisors, which featured Chancellor Michael V. Drake, M.D. as the evening’s keynote speaker. 

Fariborz Maseeh Best Student Poster Awards

Undergraduate Poster Winners:
David Truong, Garrett Thompson and Craig Griffith
Poster Title: “Epithelial Injury Influences Angiogenesis Through a TG F–Beta-2-dependent Mechanism in Vitro”
Faculty Advisor: Steve George

Graduate Poster Winner:
Laura Marchal
Poster Title: “A Robotic Strategy for Training Children to Drive a Powered Wheelchair”
Faculty Advisor: David Reinkensmeyer




Graduate Poster Winner:
Jian Wu
Poster Title: “A Microsystem with Varying-Length Electrode Arrays for Auditory Nerve Prostheses”
Faculty Advisor: Bill Tang



Image Gallery