Biomedical Grad Student Chosen for Prestigious NIH Fellowship

Anne M. Taylor, a graduate student in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, received the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award for Individual Predoctoral Fellows from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, a division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The award comes with a total stipend of nearly $65,000.

Taylor, whose faculty advisor is Assistant Professor Noo Li Jeon, is developing new microfluidic devices for use in studying Alzheimer's disease. She specifically looks at how neurons respond to different chemicals that are suspected of causing or aiding the onset of Alzheimer's.

The predoctoral fellowship program is designed to train future generations of outstanding scientists committed to pursuing research careers relevant to the mission of the NIH. Successful applicants are awarded after a rigorous peer- reviewed process, and based upon merit.

Image Gallery