Engineering Faculty, Students Win Honors

An engineering faculty member and five undergraduates were recently named Engineers of the Year.

Professor Farghalli Mohamed won the Faculty Member of the Year award for his ability to motivate students and his involvement with the campus and community. Last year, Mohamed, professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and director of the Materials Science and Engineering Program, was also recognized by the UCI Division of Undergraduate Education for his excellence in teaching and by the Institute for Scientific Information for his contributions to engineering research.

The winners of the Student of the Year awards are: Arwen Brown, from the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science; Amy Yoon, from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Karen Sam, from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; and Jenny Young, from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Diana Shea was named Engineering Student of the Year.

The winners were chosen from a pool of nominees and evaluated by a committee of engineering student organization presidents and representatives. Award organizers expect to name a winner from the new Department of Biomedical Engineering next year. All winners were announced during the E-Week Awards banquet, held in February.

Image Gallery