Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Department of Materials Science & Engineering

MSE Faculty

Julie Schoenung

Julie M. Schoenung, Ph.D.

Department Chair and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: materials selection, green engineering, materials processing and characterization, nanostructured materials, structure-property relationships
E-mail: julie.schoenung@uci.edu
Research Lab

Diran Apelian

Diran Apelian, Sc.D.

Distinguished Visiting Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: solidification processing; aluminum metallurgy; clean metal/melt refining; plasma processing / spray forming; powder metallurgy; nanostructured materials; semi-solid processing; thermal processing; resource recovery and recycling; innovation in engineering education
E-mail: dapelian@uci.edu

William Bowman

William Bowman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (effective April 2019)
Research Interests: materials for energy conversion and storage, advanced transmission electron microscopy and spectroscopy, correlating multiscale properties, electrical properties of ceramics, electrochemistry and defect chemistry, interfaces, grain boundaries and surfaces, electron energy-loss spectroscopy, ceramic processing and thin-film growth

James Earthman

James Earthman, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: biomaterials, dental and orthopaedic implants, green materials, nanocrystalline alloys, deformation and damage processes
Email: earthman@uci.edu

Allon Hochbaum, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Chemistry
Research Interests: nanoscale materials and hybrid bio-inorganic devices for applications in clean energy
Email: hochbaum@uci.edu
Research Lab

Enrique Lavernia

Enrique Lavernia, Ph.D.

UCI Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor; Distinguished Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: nanostructured materials, additive manufacturing, powder metallurgy, mechanical behavior
Email: lavernia@uci.edu
Research Lab

Martha Mecartney

Martha Mecartney, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: ceramics for energy applications and for extreme environments, flash sintering, interfacial design of thermal conductivity, transmission electron microscopy
Email: martham@uci.edu
Research Lab

Daniel Mumm

Daniel Mumm, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: development of materials for power generation systems, propulsion, integrated sensing, advanced vehicle concepts and platform protection
Email: mumm@uci.edu

Xiaoqing Pan

Xiaoqing Pan, Ph.D.

Henry Samueli Endowed Chair, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, and Physics and Astronomy; Director, Irvine Materials Research Institute
Research Interests: atomic-scale structure, properties and dynamic behaviors of advanced materials including thin films and nanostructures for memories, catalysts, and energy conversion and storage devices.
Email: xiaoqing.pan@uci.edu
Research Lab

Regina Ragan

Regina Ragan, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Research Interests: exploration and development of novel material systems for nanoscale electronic and optoelectronic devices
E-mail: rragan@uci.edu
Research Lab

Tim Rupert

Tim Rupert, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: Mechanical behavior, nanomaterials, structure-property relationships, microstructural stability, grain boundaries and interfaces, materials characterization.
Email: trupert@uci.edu
Research Lab

Lorenzo Valdevit

Lorenzo Valdevit, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Director, Institute for Design & Manufacturing Innovation (IDMI)
Research Interests: Multifunctional optimization of thermo-mechanical structures, Micro-architected materials, Multi-scale mechanics, Development of MEMS sensors and actuators for mechanical characterization of small-scale materials, structures and biological systems.
Email: valdevit@uci.edu
Research Lab