Silicon Based Wireless RFIC Design

For a complete list of EECS Colloquium lectures,
please visit:

Payam Heydari, Ph.D.
Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, UC Irvine

Location: McDonnell Douglas Engineering Auditorium


Wireless communication integrated circuits (ICs) once dominated by very fast, expensive processes, such as GaAs or other III-V technologies, are now realized in CMOS technologies. This talk provides an overview of recent advances in silicon-based RFIC design and future challenges in designing wideband wireless ICs in silicon technology.


Payam Heydari received the B.S. and M.S. degrees (with honors) in electrical engineering from the Sharif University of Technology, in 1992, 1995, respectively. He received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Southern California, in 2001.

During the summer of 1997, he was with Bell-Labs, Lucent Technologies, Murray Hill, NJ, where he worked on noise analysis in deep submicron very large-scale integrated (VLSI) circuits. During the summer of 1998, he was with IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, where he worked on gradient-based optimization and sensitivity analysis of custom-integrated circuits. Since August 2001, he has been an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine, where his research interest is the design of high-speed analog, radio-frequency (RF), and mixed-signal integrated circuits.

Dr. Heydari has received the 2005 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, the 2005 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Darlington Award, the 2005 Henry Samueli School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award, the Best Paper Award at the 2000 IEEE International Conference on Computer Design (ICCD), the 2000 Honorable Mention Award from the Department of EE-Systems at the University of Southern California, and the 2001 Technical Excellence Award in the area of Electrical Engineering from the Association of Professors and Scholars of Iranian Heritage (APSIH). He was recognized as the 2004 Outstanding Faculty at the EECS Department of the University of California, Irvine. His name was included in the 2006 Who's Who in America.