Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dynamics, Controls and Robotics

Research is conducted in the areas of dynamic systems optimization and control, robotics and machine learning. Advanced concepts in dynamics, optimization and control are applied to the areas of biorobotics, flight trajectory design, guidance and navigation, learning systems, micro sensors and actuators, flexible structures, combustion and fuel cells. The focus of robotics and machine learning is the creation of machines with human-like intelligence capabilities for learning. Cooperative robotics includes the development of distributed algorithm design for multi-agent systems.


Participating Faculty
 

Tryphon Georgiou

Tryphon Georgiou

UCI Chancellor's Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
3230 Engineering Gateway
Email: tryphon@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9966
Research Lab

Faryar Jabbari

Faryar Jabbari

Professor
3221 Engineering Gateway
Email: fjabbari@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6433
Research Lab

J. Michael McCarthy

Professor
3220 Engineering Gateway
Email: jmmccart@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6893
Research Lab

Solmaz Kia

Solmaz Kia

Assistant Professor
4230 Engineering Gateway
Email: solmaz@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8798
Research Lab

Ken Mease

Ken Mease

Professor
3233 Engineering Gateway
Email: kmease@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5855
Research Lab

David Reinkensmeyer

David Reinkensmeyer

Professor
3225 Engineering Gateway
Email: dreinken@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5218
Research Lab

Directory Placeholder

Athanasios Sideris

Professor
3205 Engineering Gateway
Email: asideris@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8139
Research Lab

Haithem Taha

Assistant Professor
4207 Engineering Gateway
Email: hetaha@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8148
Research Lab

Gregory Washington

Professor
5200 Engineering Hall
Email: gregory.washington@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4333
Research Lab

Related News